Event Photo Gallery
  Theme: Technology Challenges and Opportunities in Enhancing Quality of Life in India
  Day-1: Thursday, March 10

Breakfast and Networking: 8:00-9:00
Welcome Address and Keynote Speeches: 9:00-10:45

Welcome Address (9:00-9:05): Dr. Debabrata Das and Dr. Sanjoy Paul - Industry Day Co-Chairs
Welcome Address (9:05-9:10): Dr. Ashutosh Dutta and Dr. Shri Goyal - Industry Relation Chairs
Welcome Address (9:10-9:25): Dr. Howard Michel IEEE MGA VP
Keynote 1 (9:25-10:05): Dr. Faqir Chand Kohli - IEEE Fellow
Keynote 2 (10:05-10:45): Dr. Parag Pruthi, Founder and CEO, Niksun Inc.

Coffee Break: 10:45-11:15

Sessions: 11:15-12:45


Track-1 -- Smart Energy:
Chair: Dr. Shivkumar Kalyanaraman, IBM Research India

Track-2 – Security and Surveillance:
Chair: Mr. Partho Mullick, SVP, Spanco Ltd.

Speaker 1 (11:15-11:45)

Shri Babu Narayanan, CPRI

Speaker 1 (11:15-11:45)
Shrikant Shitole – VP & Head of the REPSS vertical in Cisco India

Speaker 2 (11:45-12:15)
Devasenapathi Seetharamakrishnan, Smarter Energy Research Leader, IBM Research – India

Speaker 2 (11:45-12:15)

Rajesh Dangi, Net Apps

Speaker 3 (12:15-12:45)

Prof. A.K. Sinha, IIT Kharagpur

Speaker 3 (12:15-12:45)

Dr. Tinku Acharya – Founder Videonetics Technology Pvt Ltd

Lunch Break: 12:45-14:00


Panel Discussion: 12:45-14:00

Topic: Role of Patents in Standards and their impact on Indian Industry

Moderator: Deepak Maheshwari, Microsoft

Panelist-1: Dr. Viswanathan Seshan, Country Manager, IP&S-India, Philips Intellectual Property & Standards

Panelist-2: Dr. Varadharajan Sridhar, Research Fellow, Sasken Communication Technologies

Panelist-3: Dr. Abhay Karandikar, Professor, IIT Mumbai

Panelist-4: Dr. KJ Singh, Principal Architect, Tejas Networks

Panelist-5: Subramaniam Vutha, Advocate, Founder Member Technology Law Firm


IEEE Presentations: 14:10-14:50


Address by IEEE ComSoc President (14:10-14:30): Dr. Byeong Gi Lee

Address by IEEE Region 10 Industry Liaison (14:30-14:50): Prof. Jhing-fa Wang

Mr. Rajendra K. Asthana (14:50-15:00) is Region 10 Industry Liaison for 2011.


Sessions: 15:00-16:40


Track – 3 -- E-Health:
Chair: Dr. V. R. Singh, Chair-IEEE Delhi 

Track – 4 – Consumer Electronics:
Chair: Mr. Praveen K. Ganapathy and Prabindh Sundareson, Texas Instruments

Speaker 1 (15:00-15:30)
Dr. V.R. Singh, Chair-IEEE Delhi

Speaker 1 (15:00-15:25)
Mr.Vinay Deshpande Founder and CEO, Encore Software (which created the Simputer)

Speaker 2 (15:30-16:00)
Mr. Nataraj Kuntagod, Principal Technology Architect, Infosys Technologies

Speaker 2 (15:25-15:50)
Prof. H. S. Jamadagni is a Professor at Centre for Electronics Design and Technology (CEDT), IISc, Bangalore.

Speaker 3 (16:00-16:30)
Dr. Minal Singh, AVP-Health services
Drishtee Foundation

Speaker 3 (15:50-16:15)
Ashish Aggarwal is CEO at SNAP Networks, Bangalore.


Coffee Break: 16:40-17:10
Exhibits and Posters: 17:00-18:00
Closing Remarks: 18:00-18:30

Reception and Networking Dinner: 18:30-20:30

Banquet Speaker: Latif Ladid - IPv6 Forum: 18:30-19:10

  Day-2: Friday, March 11

Breakfast and Networking: 8:00-9:00

Keynote Speeches: 9:00-10:30


Keynote 1 (9:00-9:45):

Dr. C. S. Rao, Chairman WiMax Forum, India and President, Reliance Comm

Keynote 2 (9:45-10:30):

Dr. N.Viswanadhan, Professor and Executive Director for The Center of Excellence Global Logistics and Manufacturing Strategies (GLAMS) in the Indian school Of Business (ISB), Hyderabad

Coffee Break: 10:30-11:00

Sessions: 11:00-12:30


Track-5 – Wireless and Broadband:

Chair: Mr. N.K. Goyal, President CMAI Association of India

Track-6 – Innovations for Emerging Economy: Challenges and Opportunity:

Chair: Dr. Subir Saha

Speaker 1 (11:00-11:30)
Asit Kadyan, Director, Telecom Engineering Center, DOT, Government of India

Speaker 1 (11:00-11:30)

Dr. Debashis Dutta

Group Coordinator, R&D in IT Group, DIT

Speaker 2 (11:30-12:00)
Dr. Neelesh Mehta,

Professor, IISc, Bangalore

Speaker 2 (11:30-12:00)

Prof. A.S. Rao

Director- Innovation, CIIE (Centre for Innovation Incubation and Entrepreneurship), IIM, Ahmedabad

Speaker 3 (12:00-12:30)
Shri SN Gupta, Chief Regulatory Advisor, SAARC Region, BT Global Services

Speaker 3 (12:00-12:30)
Mr. Naveen Jha,

Director, Despande Foundation

Packed Lunch: 12:30